Captain’s Log: November 2015

This is the first monthly post I’ll be doing of reviews and shorter thoughts I have that can’t quite fill an entire post. It’ll also be a relaxing break from all my other posts which are a little more formal. I need to think of a neat name for this. I was thinking something like “Captain’s log.” I don’t know. I’ll think of something.

Here goes.

When it comes to films, November is just the opening act for December. That’s especially true this year. This December has a lot of films to get excited for: In the Heart of the Sea, The Force Awakens, The Hateful Eight, and The Revenant all look bound to please. Just the trailer for The Revenant looks sensational.

Here comes the hype train, rolling into the station

But when it comes down to it, this December is going to be all about Force Awakens hype. I was about to refer to it as a cinematic event, but it’s so much deeper than that, it’s fair to call it a cultural event. The original Star Wars trilogy has had such a lasting cultural impact, and the prequels have had such a divisive reaction, so a lot hinges on this upcoming film. Just as Anakin was the chosen one to bring balance to the Force, The Force Awakens must be the chosen film to bring balance to the franchise.

I recently finished the Star Wars Expanded Universe novel Aftermath – my full review can be found here – but in short, it helped give insight into the ever-expanding Star Wars universe, but was an all right book other than that. With all my schoolwork, I never found myself so interested that I would read it consistently, so it took me a long time to read. Not to mention, it suffered form a bad case of “you thought this character was dead – HA! They aren’t! Bet you didn’t see that coming!” and that’s just frustrating, really. But hey, Aftermath had the tag of “Journey to The Force Awakens,” which is why I read it, and after reading it, I find myself more excited for it now, so it did its job.

“OH I just can’t wait to be King!”

For my Shakespeare class, I recently had to watch The Hollow Crown: Henry IV, produced by the BBC. Tom Hiddleston plays Prince Hal, and Jeremy Irons plays King Henry IV. Both are a pleasure to watch, and I’ve never seen a Hiddleston performance I haven’t enjoyed (though to be fair, I’ve only seen him as Hal and Loki). There’s a neat little parallel between Irons and Hiddleston’s most iconic roles; Lion King‘s Scar and Thor‘s Loki, respectively, are both well-known characters who attempt to edge out their brothers for the throne. And here, to see them play a king and a prince is a little ironic.

2015 nov 3
“Doctor, do the sassy arm-fold with us.”

As soon as I got home for Thanksgiving Break, I started binge-watching (rather, binge-catching-up on) Doctor Who. It’s been wonderful so far. We’ve seen a lot of interesting characters this season, such as the introduction Maisie Williams’ Arya St- I mean, Ashildr, and the re-introduction of characters such as Davros, Missy, and Osgood. *Spoilers* The story of Osgood in the Zygon episodes was very powerful, and while it’s nice to see she wasn’t actually killed off in season 8, it’s disappointing to know that she won’t become a companion. There’s been a great deal of building upon the interesting motif of “the hybrid,” and I’m intrigued to see where it leads. I’m also wondering if we’ll see Clara again, or if she’s actually gone for good. Most companions just walk off into the sunset after multiple supposed deaths, but with the season finale so soon, one wonders if this is permanent. What happens to the companions and its impact on the Doctor. I look forward to seeing how this all pans out. I’ll cover this more when the season ends, and the same goes for Fargo.

With the announcement of the character Linkle in the Legend of Zelda spin-off Hyrule Warriors, I’ve been in a Zelda mood. I was intrigued to hear about the re-release of Twilight Princess, a phenomenal game, and one of my favorite in the series. But I worry about a company that continually recycles all the games in the series. They’re re-making old games, rather than putting their efforts into new ones; Twilight Princess HD, Majora’s Mask 3D, Wind Waker HD, Ocarina of Time 3D, A Link to the Past and Four Swords… So to be fair this has been going on for a while, but this happens in Nintendo’s other franchises (Primarily Mario and Pokemon), to the point where it seems that they’re severely lacking in ideas. The Wii U Zelda looks to be something rather interesting, so we’ll see. In regards to Zelda, I recommend Egoraptor’s (or, Arin from Game Grumps) “Sequilitis”, or a commentary on Ocarina of Time vs. A Link to the Past, being that this man has such an impressive knowledge of game design, and he’s hilarious. Here are his videos on Mega Man and Castlevania, if you’re interested.

2015 nov 5

Already, the hype train for next year’s movies are rolling into the station for next year; as I was putting this post together, the trailer for Captain America: Civil War was released. And holy wow. It looks exciting. I said in posts in August (under the titles “Saturation Point”) that I was worried about how long people will remain interested in these sort of movies. This (and Batman v. Superman) will be a culmination point for the superhero trend, and I expect it to be great (I can’t quite make the same problem for BvS).

2015 nov 4
J. Jonah Jameson reacts to the Civil War Trailer

Posts for November:

Intertextuality: Star Wars and Avatar: The Last Airbender

The Adventure of Linkle: Nintendo and Feminism

Did they just do that?: Inglourious Basterds and Historical Accountability

Additional Reading:

Things We learned from Toy Story

Steven Spielberg Predicts Superhero Movies will go the route the Western

One thought on “Captain’s Log: November 2015

Leave a Reply

